The purpose of the Board of Professional Counselors is to administer and enforce the statutory authority and to monitor the needs of the consuming public. The board examines and licenses all eligible candidates for entry into the profession as a professional counselor. It recommends appropriate changes in the law to assure fairness and equality. The board conducts formal hearings when necessary and prosecutes by due process any violators of KRS 335.500.
March 2017 Regulation Changes - Please review the current regulations under the Resource tab above by clicking on the Kentucky Administrative Regulations on the drop down menu.
Effective March 31, 2017 -- All LPC applicants are now required to submit a Kentucky State Police background check and FBI background check performed within the last 90 days.
For the Kentucky State Police background check please go to the following link http://www.kentuckystatepolice.org/background_checks.html - select the GENERAL PUBLIC link then click the link under Employment on the next screen to download the Request for Conviction Records/Employment.
For the FBI background check please go to the following link https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks and follow the instructions to submit your request. Current processing time for FBI Background checks is 12-14 weeks.
The Semi-Annual Reports will no longer be required for Licensed Professional Counselor Associates.
Do you need to find a licensed person with the Kentucky Board of Licensed Professional Counselors?
You can now search the Active License Directory located here that will allow you to search for a licensed individual by Board, License Type, Region and/or County.
In addition, you can verify a license by clicking here.
*Please note: Licensees have the option to publicize information or leave it unavailable. The Office of Occupations and Professions believes this information will be useful and serve public protection.
Important message regarding your 2017 renewal:
Please go directly to eServices at https://oop.ky.gov/Eservices/Default.aspx if you are experiencing issues with the board’s website which have been experiencing issues with firewalls and new updates.
1) Forgot username and password link - click button and they will be sent to you - please see number 2 on login using OP ID number
2) OP ID Number: On your email /letter renewal notice, you will find your OP ID number for login.
3) Renewal Date is not your expiration date explained: Your Expiration date is the last date you may practice and bill for services and it is shown to the public and employers at online verification. If your employer is telling you that you cannot practice beyond your renewal date, that is an employer and employee issue. Medicaid has agreed and is using the online verification expiration date for their billing. The expiration date represents the end of the grace period found in your Board’s licensure regulations allowing for board imposed late fees or penalties, but you maintain the ability to practice until the shown expiration date.
Continuing Education information
All licensees are required to complete 3 CE hours on domestic violence, 6 hours of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment, and management, and 3 CE hours on law. The Board considers any course sponsored or approved by one of the providers listed in 201 KAR 36:030 section 3(1) approved to meet the requirements of KRS 210.366 and 201 KAR 36:030 section 2.